top of page
Aerial View of Waves

Explore More

FROM NOWHERE TO EVERYWHERE

VLOG07_cover_edited.jpg

READY FOR KILKENNY?

It is a wonderful and very charming old city. Not to small or too big, with a castle to visit in the city centre and lots of bars, restaurants, museums and cathedrals next to it just adds an even more inviting feeling.


And guess what? They even had a witch trial back then!

One of my closest friends visited me for a longer weekend in Ireland and therefore I booked for her and me a bed & breakfast near the castle.


During August a lot is already booked out, but we were lucky. Next to it, it’s not too expensive, very comfortable, clean and the owners were always open for a funny chat.

BY THE WAY The breakfast is excellent and freshly made. For everyone of you who would like to enjoy a nice and belly filling Irish breakfast you’ll get it there! Not only that you get different choices of a breakfast, you can have as much tea and coffee you like or preferable orange juice and corn flakes, oats, muesli or fruits. Everything is in the price included.


But before I tell you where we stayed overnight, let us go back to the beginning. Specially how to get to Kilkenny from Dublin Airport, the expenses and what to visit may be more interesting in the first place. Don’t you worry. I’ll add all the websites you need to book your trip and I can assure you won’t regret it.


Just in case you already should add an umbrella to your travel gear. We didn’t have one! Classic!

You find yourself at the airport of Dublin. There are several ways how to get to Kilkenny. But I would say the easiest way is to book your tickets in advance for the bus which is picking you up from the airport and drives straight to Kilkenny. OR you just buy the tickets inside of the bus. That’s alright as well.

I added for you the WEBSITE of the M9 Express Service down below. DUBLIN COACH

dublintokilkenny

TWO BUS STOPS IN KILKENNY #1 Kilkenny McDonagh Junction (NORTH) #2 Kilkenny Ormonde Road (SOUTH)


kilkennyStops

LET US EXPLORE KILKENNY

My friend and I got out in Kilkenny Ormonde Road, because it was closer to the B&B.

The Fanad House is near the Castle Road next to the Kilkenny Castle Park and very easy to get to. In the beginning I wanted to book another B&B, but they were sold out for the specific weekend and in the end I was really happy about it.


Watch the video or continue to read the post. It is your choice! But just to let you know. I’ll give some feedback of the locations we visited and a review to the B&B we stayed overnight. So you may be interested to continue in reading.


In the following I add some photos and a list of the things I was looking for in Kilkenny.

Of course, it is just what I liked to do, but there is still more to explore. For some churches you have to pay a fee to enter… I totally understand that since there are so many tourists during the summer. Everything has to stay in shape and beautiful for following years to come.


Oh! And you can explore everything which I listed down below by feet. So you don’t need a car or bike to do it.

thumbnail01

#KILKENNY CASTLE http://kilkennycastle.ie/ You are not allowed to take videos, but photos! It is a very cute little castle and lots of parts are still under construction. Bit by bit they renovate it. The special thing is… Or in case you know a tiny about renovating old buildings and paintings: You have to use all the products they used back then when it was built or painted to keep everything authentic as possible. And €8 is not that much for a ticket.


LRM_EXPORT_893026890737594_20181111_135456955

WHERE WE STAYED OVER NIGHT – #FANADHOUSE http://www.fanadhouse.com/

Fanad House is in the perfect location! It is next to the Kilkenny Castles park and really close to the city centre. The rooms are pretty, modern and have a bathroom. Didn’t get the time to use the bath tube, but I really wanted to. The breakfast you can choose from is a nice variety of typical Irish Breakfast or cereals and fruits. Get your tea or coffee and let's start with a good morning!


LRM_EXPORT_892629307628955_20181111_134819372
LRM_EXPORT_892739953062761_20181111_135010017

DOMINICAN BLACK ABBEY Small church with a cosy inside. It is dark, but very cosy and comfortable. Next to it I really liked the smell. Maybe it was some sage mixed with roses?


ST.MARYS CATHEDRAL Saint Mary’s was designed by William Deane Butler in 1842 – 1857 and is one of the most beautiful things I have seen in Kilkenny. Even though it was a rainy day, in the inside it was warm and cozy and I felt really welcomed.

Since I got a phone call of my brother that our granny was in hospital I lit a candle and prayed that no matter what happens to her she should feel no pain. Sadly just two days after she passed away. Therefore St.Mary’s has a special connection which I always feel in my heart.


LRM_EXPORT_892554531611047_20181111_134704596

NOSTALGIA CAFE (EAT SOME NICE PIE) When we first entered the cafe, I had a strange feeling of being watched. Not from people, but dolls and wooden figures.


ST. CIERANS COLLEGE We didn’t take a look inside, but no one had a problem to sneak around a little bit. At least outside. And the building looks nice and old. Not that far away from the bus stop and in case you have some time left just hang out there for a couple of minutes.


HOLE IN THE WALL Why a hole in a wall? I don’t know why, but it looked beautiful. Sadly to say we didn’t go to the cafe which inside the building. Next time I’ll do that for sure!


LRM_EXPORT_893071779820293_20181111_135541844

ST.CANICES CATHEDRAL The cathedral was built in the Early English or English Gothic, style of architecture, of limestone. Interesting for me were that it is surrounded by very old gravestones.

Next to the cathedral is a big old tower which once feel to the side and was almost destroyed. With help of donations they were able to rebuilt it. You can have different tours and explore everything or just some parts like Tower or Cathedral only.


LRM_EXPORT_892697519869099_20181111_134927584

ELVIS PRESLEY KILKENNY FAN HOUSE Yes, Elvis Presley fan house. A bit crazy, but a must see when you are there.


BREWERY SMITHWICKS EXPERIENCE I think it is saying everything! Just get your tickets and enjoy the tour. https://www.smithwicksexperience.com/


TALBOTS TOWER The tower is basically one of a kind. Because the walls where protecting Kilkenny how it was back then. It is actually one of nine towers which excisted in the 1300 centuries. The soldiers were sleeping inside of these massive towers, traded and played games to wait for the next attack from the outside. Although you cannot go inside of the tower, you should check it out.


LEFT BANK (BAR) You like some good drinks? Go there. It is a very popular place next to the castle and it’s huge! My friend and I counted 3 floors and each of them is slightly different. Cosy corners can be found everywhere, and they serve some delicious cocktails! No need to be afraid: Beer and Whiskey as well.


LRM_EXPORT_893115469094492_20181111_135625533

KILKENNY CITY TOURS (BY A LOCOMOTIVE) We didn’t do the tour with the locomotive, but it seemed like fun every time when we saw it passing by people were laughing, smiling and in a really good mood.


KITTYS CABIN (GET SOME SWEET SOUVENIRS) GET SOME GOOD SWEETS TO TAKE AWAY AND GIVE SOME TO YOUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS!!! I bought a lot … Was good though, but A LOT!


KYTELERS INN - GOOD FOOD and MUSIC, HISTORIAN STORY Really cosy PUB and RESTAURANT with good food and some entertaining life music. It is decorated with lots of old objects and on the backside of the menu is a slightly eerie story of the first owner of the Kytelers Inn. She was accused to be a witch, but was able to flee the country with some help of friends and money.


Her female co-workers weren’t that happy, and they were burned at the stake as a sample of what happens when you don’t behave how the church wishes. All that put aside, the food and beer was amazing though!


LRM_EXPORT_893146109230432_20181111_135656173

 

Just a small list of things I always have in my travel bag MAKE A DIFFERENCE – PLASTIC FREE!


Travel Pillow I had problems with cheaper ones, but therefore it supports your chin!

 

I hope you enjoyed reading the article and that it has been helpful. Don't forget to share this post on Pinterest or visit me on any other Social Media pages.

Give me a shout, in case you need some more advice and leave a comment below to let me know! I am always happy to help out. :)

Thank you so much and see you in the future,

Sina

You like to save the post for later on Pinterest? Just add the pins to your boards.



Disclaimer: This post contains #affiliatelinks. It only means, in case you decide to purchase something through my links, I might earn a tiny bit at no extra cost to you. :)

Comentários


Not satisfied yet?

VISIT ME ON INSTAGRAM

  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page