top of page
Aerial View of Waves

Explore More

FROM NOWHERE TO EVERYWHERE

VLOG07_cover_edited.jpg

V/BLOGGER PACKING GUIDE

Tripod, camera, DSLR, chargers, batteries, 3 different lenses, gorilla pod, extra lights, timer, stabilizer, maybe a drone and a GoPro? Or is it better to have one more lens, because I always wanted to try that fish eye effect. What about an extra bag for a charger of regular batteries to add the flash light on top? And all the little things for the GoPro in case I like to go surfing or cycling. Suddenly the suitcase is full and I didn't even add my clothes yet.


Do you know that feeling of having too much stuff with you on a road trip and in the end you only needed half of it? Next to my favourite v/blogger packing list I'll give you some feedback of why it is important to know what you would like to do on your vacation.


Yes, it is true, I don't own a professional camera equipment, but I feel comfortable with what I have. And that's the most important thing, next to know how everything works.


Q&A Do I need my laptop?

Yes & No. Do you only want to take videos and photos of your camera and/or phone. You don't need it. But in case you are on the road and always updating your social media you need one. Some files are too big to edit with your phone or tablet, specially vlogging takes lots of time and effort in editing to get everything done properly.

 

What lenses should I use?

Once again, it all depends on what you are about to do. Do you like landscape photography, macro, portrait, or just all of them?


For many years I just used a basic lens. Canon EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II is a good combination of close up and wide angle. The AF is good too, of course it is not the worlds best lens, but perfect for a beginner photographer or videographer. Besides, it never let me down. Another one, which is a good zoom lens I actually got from my grandfather. Canon Zoom Lens EF 75-300 mm 1:4-5.6 II has AF as well. Although, I prefer the manual focus, because sometimes it has trouble of focusing what I like to. Next to it, no matter what Zoom Lens you are about to get, in case you want to, you need a tripod. Otherwise, your footage gets very shaky and blurry.

Other good lenses are the nifty fifty or the pancake 24 mm for portrait. Both of them have a sharp focus and the background/surroundings are blurred out.

 

Is a tripod or a gorilla pod better?

Both of them are holding and stabilizing your camera pretty well. The tripod is good for making videos and photos when it's about different heights, because it can be made bigger or smaller. A downside would that its not that handy, big and heavy. The gorilla pod is better when its about travelling with a small bag and very limited space. You can add it on any ground or wrap it around an object like a fence, bicycle, chair or anything else. Downside would be that you can change the sizes. Now, depending on what adventure you are about to go, you either need a tripod or gorilla pod. From my side, I always choose the tripod, because next to it being heavy I like it to decide of making it taller or smaller. There are tripod adapters and gorilla pods for the phone as well.

 

What's the best GoPro? Do I need one? First of all, you don't need a GoPro or any other action camera. But it always depends on what you want to do. You'll be kayaking, surfing or on your way through the jungle with your bicycle? You should have one. The newest GoPro 7 Black has an integrated stabilizer and is excellent for indoor and outdoor action. Another action camera that is amazing and has two screens which makes it perfect for vlogging is the DJI Osmo Action. It has a stabilizer as well, 4k like the GoPro 7 Black and all in all they have almost the same rating.

 

Is a Gimbal (stabilizer) any good?

Yes, they are. Specially when you are about to take videos while walking or even running, pan up or pan down, basically any kind of movement will be nice and smooth, full of details and a sharp picture included. But they come with a price and you need to charge them frequently. I don't have one, but love to.

My choice of stabilizer for a camera would be the Zhiyun Crane 2. It has excellent reviews and I have seen it in action with my own eyes. Fell in love with it, but its pricey. That's why I practise to have a smooth and lightweight walk, so that the videos are not too shaky.

 

What are the little extras that I should take with me?

Chargers and adapters for the different plugs of the world. Enough SD cards to not get in trouble of running out of space. A Power Bank, flash light in case of not having enough in dark areas, a timer and a small bag to fit in everything. Last but not least, you are a vlogger? Don't forget your microphone!



See you later!


List will always be updated. Let me know in case you have something more to share and I'll add it. Thanks ♥

I hope you enjoyed reading the article and that it has been helpful. Don't forget to share this post on Pinterest or visit me on any other Social Media pages.

Give me a shout, in case you need some more advice and leave a comment below to let me know! I am always happy to help out. :)


Thank you so much and see you in the future,

Sina


You like to save the post for later on Pinterest? Just add the pins to your boards.

Disclaimer: This post contains #affiliatelinks. It only means, in case you decide to purchase something through my links, I might earn a tiny bit at no extra cost to you. :)

Comments


Not satisfied yet?

VISIT ME ON INSTAGRAM

  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page