top of page
Aerial View of Waves

Explore More

FROM NOWHERE TO EVERYWHERE

VLOG07_cover_edited.jpg

WORK & HOLIDAY JAPAN #01

Did you ever imagined how it would be to visit a country without leaving it for a while and to get to know it better than just through a regular vacation? Maybe you should consider applying for a WORK & HOLIDAY VISA, because I just did and it was easier than I thought.


PART #01 FROM IDEA TO REALITY


Japan, one of the countries that fascinated me since childhood and after the first visit I decided, I have to try it. I have to try to apply for a visa which grants me a stay of a year and which allows me to not only explore it as much as I want, but the possibility to get a job and merge even more with the Japanese folk.

Some time passed and the ball actually began to roll while I planned my second short trip to Tokyo. A dear friend of mine has the same, unusual interest and deep desire to see more of a country which is extremely different from ours, but strangely feels like home. It could be that we travelled so much in our short life, that we actually feel home everywhere we go.

Or is it, because we know already what awaits us in Japan? On the other side, why is Japan and not China, Korea, Taiwan or another Asian country so dearly to our hearts? Yes, I didn't see the others before, but Japan, the forest gods know why, my heart is longing for it.



Everyone who knows me, can tell that I love to watch cartoons and specially anime. It is not about the pointy nose, big eyes or the extremely realistic screaming in an action series. No, it is about the stories that they tell and it has no boundaries which I find very comforting. It is about another kind of beauty that has been found and seen through eyes that are not mine, but still feel a connection. And, it may have been one of the many reasons why I began to draw, next to the last unicorn, which is in fact a mixed production and Japan was involved as well, the care bears had an impact on me, too. I would not be here, writing to you if it's not for those details in my past that have shaped who I am today.

Besides those things, I love the details of their historic buildings, the craftsmanship, the long forgotten warriors, the spirits, rituals, festivities, food - specially food, the way they try to live in harmony with nature - although it is very difficult, language, clothing and more is at some point completely different from I am used to, but still, it felt like coming home while I visited Japan for the first time.


In fact, I could write way more and in detail why I wanted to come back for longer, but in my opinion it is time to help you a bit with your interest in applying for a WORK & HOLIDAY VISA, because it is not that complicated than you may think. Surely, each country differs of what you may need for your application, but still you'll get some good facts of what you should think of while getting ready.


#01 DO SOME RESEARCH - EMBASSY

For everyone who is interested in a Work & Holiday, not only for Japan, should take a look at the Embassy which is the closest to your home. Their homepage is already a good beginning to figure out what you'll need to apply.


From my side I had to apply in Germany, because I am born there, and even though I lived for 2 years in Ireland, I had to visit the Embassy of Japan in Hamburg. You guessed right, some pain right from the start - You have to go to the Embassy to hand over your application. OR --- You send it to them, but you have to add your passport and for me it was too insecure to send it by mail. Therefore, it is your choice. BUT YOU HAVE TO PICK IT UP!

Because they will give you some good advice or you have to sign another document which is relevant for your, but wasn't available during the time you applied.


My luck, it is 2020 and Corona spreading all over the world I had to sign a document that I haven't been in certain areas of the world. Otherwise, they would have forbid me to enter Japan.


#02 LIST OF WHAT I HAD TO PREPARE FOR MY VISA APPLICATION //GERMANY

Passport, Application Document, Photo frontal - not older than 6 months, enough money on bank account which depends on having booked flights or not, International Health Insurance, detailed Travel Plan, CV, Motivation Letter, signed Corona Document.

Everything has to be printed and not clipped together. Lose documents in a folder are okay.

Take a look at the opening hours as well and don't hesitate to write them an E-Mail or call right away. They are here for you to answer questions and to make it as easy as possible for you to apply.

#03 WAITING GAME

As funny as it seems (seriously not), it took them 10 days to get back to me with a message of meeting them to pick up my Work & Holiday Visa for Japan. Sometimes it even takes less time or a bit longer, but never more than 21 days. Kinda cool, right?


//Saying Good Bye and Hello to Japan


Other than that I'll get back to you another time with information about packing your bag, what you can prepare in advance, a place to stay and much more follows with the next Update. See you in the future.


Before I forget, don't forget to take a look at all the other Blog Posts, let me know what you think and in case of a question, go ahead and send me a message.


Sina



Comments


Not satisfied yet?

VISIT ME ON INSTAGRAM

  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page